I must utter what comes to my lips

A translation of the meaning of a poem by the Sufi poet Khutar Sighn Duggal (by Poetreearborist)

I must utter what comes to my lips.

Speaking the truth creates chaos.
Telling a lie saves one scarce.
I am afraid of both these.
Afraid I am both here and there.

I must utter what comes to my lips.

The one who has this secret known
Looks honestly into self
And lives in the shrine of peace
Where there are no ups and downs

I must utter what comes to my lips.

It is indeed a slippery place
I take precautions in the dark
Go inside and see for yourself
Why this wild search afar?

I must utter what comes to my lips.

It is a matter of integrity
A law to which I conform
It’s Allah in every soul you see
If God is in me why not in you?

I must utter what comes to my lips.

My beloved master is not far from me
Without whom there none could be
That explains the suffering and pain
But mine is not the eye to see
I must say what comes to my lips.

 

Leave a Reply

