brief love affair with a veiled woman

I’m at the age where I can claim survival of a few great loves

And several notable affairs

And her

Who felt like strings taught and vibrating

Come down, go back up

She tied me up in knots once, remember?

She  tied me up with her scarf

And we tried to pry ourselves together in the dark

All those nights of twisting

We slept wrapped in an awkward shape

Like we defied the One who created space

We kissed, never looking each other in the face

Sometimes I search for her among the veiled ones

But all the women cast their gazes down

And I would doubtful recognize her eyes anyway

Leave a Reply

