Always read Whitman for inspiration

Excellent excerpts from Walt Whitman’s mystical poetry

I CELEBRATE myself, and sing myself,
And what I assume you shall assume,
For every atom belonging to me as good belongs to you.

***

Stop this day and night with me and you shall possess the origin of
all poems,
You shall possess the good of the earth and sun, (there are millions
of suns left,)

***

Clear and sweet is my soul, and clear and sweet is all that is not
my soul.

Lack one lacks both, and the unseen is proved by the seen,
Till that becomes unseen and receives proof in its turn.

***

I believe in you my soul, the other I am must not abase itself to you,
And you must not be abased to the other.

***

A child said What is the grass? fetching it to me with full hands;
How could I answer the child? I do not know what it is any more
than he.

***

Where are you off to, lady? for I see you,
You splash in the water there, yet stay stock still in your room.

Dancing and laughing along the beach came the twenty-ninth
bather,
The rest did not see her, but she saw them and loved them.

***

SOURCE: http://www.princeton.edu/~batke/logr/log_026.html

One thought on “Always read Whitman for inspiration

Leave a Reply

