Salaat

When it comes to repenting

I approach

And You respond

My heart cools as the sickly desire moves from expression of long laments deeper into the center where water flows through every cell of my body

Carrying the charged preternatural soul music

That only seeks balance through connection

You silence the crude dogmatic undertones that stick to my inner ear walls

And with obedience and a grotesque pain in knowing how long I have held onto my sin

And kept my face turned away from You in shame

And with a fervent intent and hopeful heart

Comes the strength in my legs as I stand ready before only You

Then do I lift up my hands, abandoning lies and illusions

And from my lips the honey sweet whisper of Your blessed promises soothe me

None do I adore but You

Rapturous release comes as I fall before You, returning to the origin of my humble being

With acknowledgement that You are vast, undefined, eternal

In that space I depart from my grand schemes and let my pride sweat itself into the ground

Until Allahu Akbar! – You raise me up

So that I may seek Your mercy, Your infinite forgiveness

And then return to You again, willfully surrending my all to Your will

So that in the end moment – Allahu Akbar! – You overwhelm me with serenity,

I confess la ilaha illa allah

And greet the world with peace in my heart

Leave a Reply

