Silent Shadow

My doubt is the reasonable and silent shadow

Cast by the light of your enthusiasm against

The hard, unmoving pillar of sobriety

If I cannot share your sentiment, consider

How few revel in the ecstasy true conviction brings

Instead, quiet and content am I, while

Holding in my mind two contradictory figments

With fondness, like children – just letting them be

Because I have never credited the truth with being itself

Only the searching compels me

So if you say with exuberance, Love and compassion are all we have, this is the meaning of life, and this is what it comes down to!

Forgive me when I take for myself that no such notion will suffice,

and hold that only subtleties inspire the poet, who cannot be burdened

by obtuse uncrafted caricatures of our shared condition

Leave a Reply

