Poignant Moment

The most poignant moment comes

Like an ice cold draft spilling down my back

It’s like waking up inside a dream

All these months curled up in pious repose

In celibacy, in solitude, in the quiet shell of grief

Because someone I love got lost in the weeds of addiction

My mouth is dry with fiery lust

This pure physical desire has no particular object to crave

It just happens with a shock of conscience

Inside the purifying practices of the holy month

Do I not cleave to God in this time?

Am I not supposed to further fall away from earthly pleasures?

How is this opposite phenomenon occurring?

Inside my mind and my body the aching chemistry

Wet with hormone, and rapid synaptic cracklings shake the libido

My sensual urges rise, awakened from their dormant reprieve

Leave a Reply

