Poem for God

I looked in the cupboard and you were not there

I looked to my lovers and could not find your face

To the drink I turned, but it only hurt my head

To my friends I  turned and could not hear your voice

Inside all the great books I searched and found only words

You were not there in the people, the places or things

Then finally,  having left only one stone unturned,

I looked into my own pain – there you were at last!

When I was emptied of everything

You came and filled me

Leave a Reply

