My Grief Breaks Open

In hard, cool solitude the rock of every emotion over losing you sits pent, unmoving

When I read the poems of Rumi my grief breaks open

like God’s booming voice across eternity commanding, Let there be light

the creation of what is right for here and now tumbles into being

my whole soul dissolves into unknowing, gone to a place where my mind cannot find it

I dare not look for new love from inside this heartbreak, and instead find the hand of Jesus bleeding before me

asking, Do you want to be healed?

rumi

Leave a Reply

