Ode to a Day Off

(Please read as Garrison Keillor. Thank you.)

I wake up this morning still naked between the sheets
Wiggle free and manage somehow to don soft cotton pajamas intended for last night
I opt for glasses instead of contact lenses
I choose not to brush my hair
I make breakfast slowly and delight in my creation of soft rolled eggs with sheep’s milk feta and spinach served with a side of crunchy fried Yukon golds
I drink coffee and indulge in a quick smoke on the sunny porch
This may be summer’s last day, I realize and contemplate my options
The sun is also shining on the couch
So I curl up with The New Darkroom Handbook
Until around 2pm, close my eyes and dream of waterfalls

One thought on “Ode to a Day Off

  1. “The sun is also shining on the couch” made me smile. Haven’t listened to the Writer’s Almanac for a while, but the voice came right back. GK would be proud!

Leave a Reply

