This Morning We Wake

This morning we wake
Very far apart
My daughter is sitting next to me singing “all the pretty horses”
With a voice clear as a bell
Today you begin to formally say goodbye to your brother
And of course, I want to be there with you because of love
But of course, I cannot be with you because of love
Yes, the intricacies make this difficult
My instincts oppose each other cruelly
Knowing what you need- to be with family
Knowing what you do not need- to see me
Is not hurtful, only truth
I would drop the world to be at your side
And you know this
So let there be no doubt of my intentions
Here I am – finally learning how to give you space

2 thoughts on “This Morning We Wake

Leave a Reply

