They never told us

They never told us to question our faith

So faith go on til kindom come

But kingdom never come for us children

Only more no question

and less answer

So life we never understand

And wish to die before Jesus come for he take so long

Maybe his car break down for good or he just run out of gas

And give up on the roadside

One thought on “They never told us

  1. The imagery behind the voice of this poem is incredible. The pidgin words and the weariness that culminates in the final lines reminds me of something third world. I felt again like I was in Africa. Like I was watching in my rearview mirror the dirty, half-naked children running down a dusty, rutted road after my car. Maybe they thought I was Jesus passing them by.

Leave a Reply

